The Australian Medal was held on Saturday, 9 and Sunday, 10 January 2021. 96 entrants from Royal Sydney, The Lakes, New South Wales and The Australian competed in the event which is held over 36 holes of stroke play from the medal course (blue tees). The Australian Medal was first held in 1966 and was originally open to Members of The Australian Golf Club and Royal Sydney Golf Club. In 2014, Members of The Lakes Golf Club and New South Wales Golf Club were also invited to participate.

Conditions were excellent this year with gentle breezes from the South on Saturday and still, warm conditions on Sunday. At the conclusion of round 1 there was a three-way tie for the lead between Ray Balcomb (The Australian, Daily Handicap 4), John Frechtling (The Australian, 14) and Christopher Hartas (The Lakes, 3) each recording a score of 68 strokes net. Peter Jones (The Australian, 10) was 1 shot further behind with a 69 to be drawn in the final group with Ray, John & Christopher. Matt Giles (The Australian) and Christopher Hartas lead the scratch event, each with a round of 1-under 71 strokes.

The top 60 net scores qualified for round 2 on the Sunday with all players scoring 78 strokes net or better making the cut.

On a beautiful Sunday morning Matthew Dane (The Lakes, 0) set the early Clubhouse lead with a net 70 to finish with a 145 stroke total. Angus Ryals (The Lakes, 5) playing in the third last group backed up his first round 72 with a 71 to take the lead. The final group were locked in a tight battle which came down to the very last hole. John Frechtling signed for a net 73 ahead of Christopher Hartas, net 74, to record a 36-hole total of 141 strokes and win the Championship by 1 stroke. John had a solid inward nine which included back-to-back birdies on hole 13 & 14 and another birdie on the tough 17th hole. John was crowned The Australian Medal Champion for 2021, was awarded a set of AGC Waterford Crystal Tumblers and also a $300 Golf Shop voucher for the win.

Christopher Hartas was the runner-up with a net total of 142 strokes and 3rd place went to Angus Ryals on a count-back over Peter Jones. Matthew Giles won the minor scratch prize with gross scores of 71 & 71 for a 142 stroke total, winning by 3 shots over Matthew Dane.

To view the full results click here.

← Back to previous page